2nd International Symposium on Fuzzy and Rough Sets

(ISFUROS 2017)

Organized as part of the 2017 International UCLV Convention (CFP here)

October 24 - 26, 2017

Santa Maria Key, Villa Clara, Cuba

Call for Papers

Aim and Scope

Fuzzy and rough set theories stand as two of the most prominent methodologies within the umbrella of Computational Intelligence to handle uncertainty in vague and inconsistent environments. They have enjoyed widespread success in a plethora of real-world application domains and remain at the forefront of numerous theoretical studies to consolidate and augment their well-established properties.

The second edition of the International Symposium on Fuzzy and Rough Sets (ISFUROS 2017) will take place at Valentin Perla Blanca Hotel, Santa Maria Key, in the province of Villa Clara, Cuba from October 24-26, 2017. It will be organized by the Universidad Central de Las Villas. ISFUROS 2017 aims at providing a forum for exchange on fuzzy and rough set theories and their applications. The symposium includes tutorials, invited key lectures and paper presentations.

ISFUROS 2017's goals are (1) to strengthen the relationships among researchers and institutions working on fuzzy and rough set theories, (2) to increase awareness of these topics among the Latin American research community and (3) to facilitate the contact between new researchers and consolidated groups.

Submission Topics

Submissions of original and previously unpublished work on fuzzy and rough set theories and applications are encouraged, including but not limited to the following topics:

Fuzzy set theory

Rough set theory

Hybridization between fuzzy and rough sets

Granular Computing


Important Dates

Paper submission: May 15, 2017

Notification to authors: June 30, 2017

Camera-ready version: August 30, 2017

Early registration: August 30, 2017

ISFUROS 2017: October 24-26, 2017


ISFUROS 2017 Co-Chairs

Rafael Bello

Universidad Central de Las Villas, Cuba

[home page]

Email: rbellop [at] uclv [dot] edu [dot] cu

Rafael Falcon

Larus Technologies and University of Ottawa, Canada

[home page]

Email: rfalcon [at] ieee [dot] org


Steering Committee

Rafael Bello, Universidad Central de Las Villas, Cuba

Chris Cornelis, Universiteit Gent, Belgium

Bernard De Baets, Universiteit Gent, Belgium

Rafael Falcon, Larus Technologies / University of Ottawa, Canada

Francisco Herrera, Universidad de Granada, Spain

Janusz Kacprzyk, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland

Witold Pedrycz, University of Alberta, Canada

Andrzej Skowron, University of Warsaw, Poland

Dominik Slezak, University of Warsaw, Poland

José Luis Verdegay, Universidad de Granada, Spain

Yiyu Yao, University of Regina, Canada

Program Committee

Ajith Abraham, Machine Intelligence Research Labs (MIR Labs), USA

Gladys Casas, Universidad Central de Las Villas, Cuba

Giuseppe D'Aniello, University of Salerno, Italy

Bernard De Baets, Ghent University, Belgium

Antonio Dourado, University of Coimbra, Portugal

Juan Carlos Figueroa, Universidad Distrital Francisco José de Caldas, Colombia

Yaima Filiberto, Universidad de Camagüey, Cuba

Wojciech Froelich, University of Silesia, Poland

Fernando Gomide, University of Campinas, Brazil

Gwanggil Jeon, Incheon University, Korea

Maria Teresa Lamata, Universidad de Granada, Spain

Pawan Lingras, Saint Mary's University, Canada

Orestes Llanes-Santiago, CUJAE, Cuba

Ernestina Menasalvas, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain

Gonzalo Nápoles, Hasselt Universiteit, Belgium

Witold Pedrycz, University of Alberta, Canada

Amilkar Puris, Universidad Tecnica Estatal de Quevedo, Ecuador

Enislay Ramentol, Universidad de Camaguey, Cuba

Marek Reformat, University of Alberta, Canada

Mauricio Restrepo, Universidad Militar Nueva Granada, Colombia

Alejandro Rosete, CUJAE, Cuba

Shusaku Tsumoto, Shimane University, Japan

Koen Vanhoof, Hasselt Universiteit, Belgium

Marley Vellasco, Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro (PUC-Rio), Brazil

Jose Luis Verdegay, Universidad de Granada, Spain

Yenny Villuendas-Rey, Universidad de Ciego de Ávila, Cuba

Raciel Yera, Universidad de Ciego de Ávila, Cuba


Keynote Speakers



Paper Submission Guidelines

Paper submission deadline is May 15, 2017

Latex and Word Templates

To help ensure correct formatting, please use the available LaTeX and Microsoft Word templates.

Manuscript Style Information

Note: Violations of any of the above specifications may result in rejection of your paper.


Submission Instructions

Paper submission will start on March 1, 2017. Submissions will be done via EasyChair. Please use this link to submit your paper. From the top menu that appears (the black ribbon), choose "Submissions" from the left, then click on "Add a submission" link to the right side of the screen. Click on "Continue" at the bottom of the screen. Finally, please fill out all the necessary information concerning the submission, upload the paper and click on "Submit".






The venue for the 2nd International Symposium on Fuzzy and Rough Sets (ISFUROS 2017) is the Valentin Perla Blanca Hotel (Five-Star) .

Valentin Perla Blanca is an adult-only (18+ years old) luxury resort with more than 1000 yards of fine white sand beaches and crystal clear waters located in Perla Blanca, in the Wildlife Refuge of Santa Maria Key, Cuba.

Designed in contemporary Caribbean style and integrated in an idyllic setting, the hotel has luxurious facilities that include two swimming pool areas, Bali beds, submerged bars and relaxation areas.

Map and directions here

Hotel picture

Hotel picture

Hotel picture


International Fuzzy Systems Association

International Rough Set Society

Flemish Interuniversity Council, Belgium

DECSAI, Universidad de Granada, Spain

iMODA Network

AI Lab, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium


Please contact the symposium co-chairs at the following email addresses:

Email: rbellop [at] uclv [dot] edu [dot] cu

Email: rfalcon [at] ieee [dot] org