call for papers, previous message

From: (Laurence Brooks)
Subject:  CFP: Requirements Engineering 1995 (RE `95)
Date:     21 Apr 1994 12:35:37 -0500

                         CALL FOR PAPERS
                             RE `95
                Second IEEE International Symposium

                          27-29 March 1995
                           York, England

                 Sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society
                    In cooperation with ACM SIGSOFT,
                         IFIP Working Group 2.9
                  (Software Requirements Engineering)

Requirements engineering is the branch of software engineering concerned
with the real-world goals for, functions of, and constraints on software
systems. It is also concerned with the relationship of these factors to
precise specifications of software behavior, and to their evolution over
time and across software families.

This symposium, to be held near the beautiful medieval city of York, will
bring together researchers and practitioners of requirements engineering
for  an exchange of ideas and experience.  The program will consist of
invited talks, paper presentations, panels, working groups, demonstrations,
and a doctoral consortium.


Papers on all aspects of requirements engineering are welcome.  However,
all submitted papers must be classified according to the problems they
are addressing and the contributions they are making toward solving them.
The official classification scheme for the symposium can be obtained by
requesting it from the program chair or by anonymous ftp from host (/dist/re95.cfp).  Papers will be evaluated according
to criteria appropriate for their classifications.  We encourage
prospective authors to look at the classification scheme early, as
it establishes a uniform context and may thus influence the presentation
of their work.

Authors must submit six copies of each full paper (no Email or FAX
submissions) to the program chair.  Papers should not exceed 6,000
words in length, and should be accompanied by full contact information
including name, address, Email address, telephone number, and FAX number.
Authors are also requested to submit the title, abstract, and
classifications of each paper by email to the program chair a month
before the full paper is due (please include full contact information).

All accepted papers will appear in the proceedings of the symposium, to be
published by the IEEE Computer Society Press.  The best papers will also
be considered for publication in a major software engineering journal.

Important dates:

1 August    1994: title, abstract, and classifications requested;

1 September 1994: full papers due;

1 November  1994: notification of acceptance;

15 December 1994: camera-ready copy due.


In the doctoral consortium, students will present their
work-in-progress to selected senior members of the requirements
engineering community, for the purposes of feedback and discussion.

Presenters will be selected on the basis of a research summary, not
exceeding 2,000 words in length.  The reports of presenters will be
published as notes for consortium participants.  Limited financial
assistance will be available  for presenters.  Doctoral students
should contact the consortium chair for details.


The symposium will provide free facilities for demonstration of
selected tools.  Potential demonstrators should submit a description
of their tool, not to exceed 500 words, to the general chair by
1 September 1994.


General Chair: Michael Harrison
Social Events Chair: Peter Wright
Publicity Chair: Laurence Brooks
Local Arrangements Chair: Chris Johnson
Finance Chair : Jonathan Moffett
all at:
Department of Computer Science
University of York
York YO1 5DD, UK
(44) 904 432721; FAX (44) 904 432767

Program Chair:
Pamela Zave
AT&T Bell Laboratories
Room 2B-413
Murray Hill, New Jersey 07974 USA
(1) 908 582 3080; FAX (1) 908 582 7550

Doctoral Consortium Chair:
Anthony Finkelstein
Department of Computing
Imperial College
180 Queens Gate
London SW7 2BZ UK
(44) 71 589 5111 x5078; FAX (44) 71 581 8024

Program Committee:

William Agresti, MITRE (USA)
Mack Alford, Ascent Logic (USA)
Mark Ardis, AT&T Bell Laboratories (USA)
Andre Arnold, Universite de Bordeaux (France)
Joanne Atlee, University of Waterloo (Canada)
David Barstow, Schlumberger Laboratory for Computer Science (France)
Janis Bubenko, Swedish Institute for Systems Development (Sweden)
Alan Davis, University of Colorado (USA)
Martin Feather, USC Information Sciences Institute (USA)
Stephen Fickas, University of Oregon (USA)
David Garlan, Carnegie Mellon University (USA)
Joseph Goguen, University of Oxford (UK)
Sol Greenspan, GTE Laboratories (USA)
Anthony Hall, Praxis Systems (UK)
Ian Hayes, University of Queensland (Australia)
Hisayuki Horai, Fujitsu Laboratories (Japan)
Daniel Jackson, Carnegie Mellon University (USA)
Matthias Jarke, RWTH Aachen (Germany)
Lalita Jategaonkar Jagadeesan, AT&T Bell Laboratories (USA)
Lewis Johnson, USC Information Sciences Institute (USA)
Julio Cesar Leite, PUC-Rio (Brazil)
Robyn Lutz, Jet Propulsion Laboratory (USA)
Tom Maibaum, Imperial College (UK)
John McDermid, University of York (UK)
John Mylopoulos, University of Toronto (Canada)
Colin Potts, Georgia Institute of Technology (USA)
Howard Reubenstein, MITRE (USA)
Dieter Rombach, Universitaet Kaiserslautern (Germany)
Kevin Ryan, University of Limerick (Ireland)
Jawed Siddiqi, Sheffield Hallam University (UK)
Alistair Sutcliffe, City University of London (UK)
Axel van Lamsweerde, Universite Catholique de Louvain (Belgium)
Kiem-Phong Vo, AT&T Bell Laboratories (USA)
Rebecca Wirfs-Brock, Digitalk (USA)
Laurence Brooks, Department of Computer Science, University of York, York,
Y01 5DD, UK
phone:+44 904 433242, fax:+44 904 432767, email: